The Flight

I am not really sure what is expected of me,

I jumped in last minute, thanks to Carrie.

I have only written for an audience of scholars,

Never for fun, pleasure or dollars.

I feel like this experience will benefit me,

As I hope to become a “writer,” be patient I plea.

My vocabulary is lacking, without a doubt,

But I refuse to give up, cry and shout.

I have read how others are so expressive,

It’s absolutely amazing and quite impressive.

I come to you at an elementary level,

But I won’t allow that to stop me, I will not revel.

I aspire to be able to write like most of you,

Though I am sure along the way, you also grew.

Please follow me along this crazy flight,

Offer some advice, so better I will write.

Thanks for allowing me to share in the fun.

No more from me, for now I am done!

23 thoughts on “The Flight

  1. Welcome to the SOLS community!
    I tried to write a rhyming response but it wouldn’t come together. Writing here is like that, experimenting and enjoying the process, even if it doesn’t quite come out like you planned. Writing is so good for you!!

    1. Funny you should say that perhaps it may not come out like I planned. As I was writing again tonight, I noticed just that. And, it was nice to hear that it’s okay. 🙂

  2. Welcome! This is a great poem to express how you feel at the beginning of this slicing journey…the same we all felt at the beginning! I have definitely grown as a writer just from being a part of this experience. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

  3. Ummm… I dare say you are a writer fit perfect to slicing! I love this verse! Well done. Welcome to slicing,. You are going to love it! Promise!

  4. I love this! It’s a perfect way to start off your month. Sets the tone that you are putting yourself out there and going to have fun with this experience along with everyone. Plus I’m a sucker for rhyming!

Leave a comment