The Hunt

It’s the same routine E  V  E  R  Y   DAY

Eyes open
Retrieve cell phone
Check email
Scroll down
Not there yet
Scroll up
Maybe it’s there now
Nope
How about now?
Sometimes yes – sometimes no

I try not to get too excited
It’s happened once too many times
The price looks perfect
Don’t get too excited
I do anyway
SUCKER!!!!!
Wrong neighborhood
UUUGGGGGHHHHHH!

When will I learn?
It’s been a year
I still have hope
I really think it might happen soon
For now I will continue to wait
Maybe not patiently, but I will wait
Until tomorrow morning
Eyes open
Check email
Scroll down
And maybe it’s there

6 thoughts on “The Hunt

  1. Katie Diez says:

    This was such a fun read- I can picture you, on the hunt for the perfect house…the highs and lows of this kind of house hunting…loved this Slice!!!!

  2. I feel your anticipation! The repetition was really effective in conveying the anxious feelings we experience when waiting for news on something. Best of luck to you in your search, A!

Leave a Reply

