1st of the Month

“It’s the 1st of the month, wake up, wake up, wake up…”

The moment my eyes opened this morning, I recalled it was the 1st of the month. The first thing on my mind was that it was the first day of the writing challenge, but immediately thereafter, Bone Thugs-n-Harmony began singing to me, their ever-popular song, “1st of the Month.”

Ever-popular? Okay, maybe not, but it was to my “posse.” My posse – my college friends – the five of them, plus me, that shared so many good times and fond memories.

Those were the days…

that now seem as if they were so simple.

when we thought “we were it.” We were so “cool”…rapping and belting it out to Bone Thugs-n-Harmony.

when we dreamed about who we would become, wondered where we would live, and how our lives would play out.

that allowed us the time to create such amazing memories and most importantly friendships to last a lifetime.

that should remind me to slow down, take it in, and smell the roses because time passes much too quickly.

“It’s the 1st of the month, wake up, wake up, wake up…” Time to text the “posse” and let them know they are on my mind.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “1st of the Month

  1. You have such a gift of wrapping so many important messages into such a small and meaningful package! That’s what I want to say first and foremost. Second -MAN I feel old! I’ve never heard of that song. Jeesh!

  2. Katie Diez says:

    This was a perfect way to start the month! It had me thinking about all the funny times with my “posse”…it brought a smile to my face. Can’t wait to read more from you this month!

Leave a Reply

