Oh No You Didn’t

If you know me you know just how competitive I am. Recently, I have been talking about my desire to get involved in some type of team sport with others my age. I am not necessarily skilled at one particular sport, but I will certainly try my best and play competitively. I was hoping to find others, who are also athletic but not collegiate players, to form a team with the goals of getting back into shape, playing hard, and having fun.

An opportunity arises. My husband informs me that the assistant coach (semi-pro soccer player) for my daughter’s soccer team is forming a co-ed, 30 and under soccer team and he is looking for players. I responded, “It is going to be too competitive.” My 12-year old daughter happened to be within earshot of the conversation. She piped in and argued, “I don’t see what the problem is. Are you saying you are not competitive?”

Wow! Both my husband and I began laughing immediately. It’s funny how your kids know you so well. After listening to me from the sidelines for the last 6 years or so, she wasn’t going to just let that one go. I love it! Her personality is starting to bloom and it’s showing a good sense of humor – somewhat dry – but that makes it all the funnier. Thanks for the laugh, Leah!

6 thoughts on “Oh No You Didn’t

  1. That’s funny! I thought you were going to say that your hubby joined to compete with you. That’s what mine would do. I don’t have a competitive bone in my body! I really could care less. 🙂

  2. What a fun and interesting slice!! . It’s interesting how well our children know us. They pay attention when we have no idea they are watching. As they grow older you will be amazed at how much of yourself and your husband you will recognize in your children.

Leave a Reply

