A Kind of Feeling

How many people get coffee, tea or even a pop every morning from Starbuck’s, McDonald’s, Dunkin Donuts, the local gas station…because it just feels good? It’s a hard to describe, but I get it when I treat myself to a frothy, latte of some type, lathered with rich caramel, whip cream and even some sea salt when it’s in season. But, I have heard many others express the same – they just like how it feels. Is it the styrofoam cups, the sleeve on the cup, the straw, the exchange of money for your treat, driving off with your treat, the way you feel when that warm or cold drink hits your lips, the way you carry yourself with a  drink in hand? There may be many reasons and perhaps a different one for each person, but if you have that special kind of feeling after getting your morning fix, you know what I’m talking about.

I get a feeling just like that…at work…when I go into a co-worker’s office and use her lotion for my hands. That sounds crazy, but it’s true. It wouldn’t be quite the same feeling if I just applied the lotion that sits in my purse in my office. Her lotion has a pump which in and of itself is awesome! Pumping lotion is so easy, much more effortless, and less messy than trying to squeeze it out of a tube. Then, distributing the lotion to make sure I don’t miss a spot seems like a therapeutic exercise in her office. So, that’s why I return day after day to steal some lotion from her pump. Though, I don’t do it when she is not there…just not the same feeling.

10 thoughts on “A Kind of Feeling

  1. Ohhhh – is that why you show up in my office every morning? I thought it was my magnetic personality 🙂 Glad to be of service, ma’am. BTW – I can certainly relate to the happiness that one feels when they get their hands on a sweet frothy drink in the morning. Nothin’ like it!

  2. I think for me, it’s the time for me. The barista only knows me, not the family or any other part of my life. Just me and our morning time. I also think it helps to keep my mouth busy while my verbal filter is still waking up. Then I don’t say everything that comes to my mind!

  3. Debbie says:

    Hmmmm….. you have my mind wondering this morning beautiful lady. Do I enjoy the feeling or the coffee more? I was probably 3 years old when I had my first sip of coffee. My grandmother gave it to me and it was a love affair that I still lives fifty (ugh!) years later. I think for me it’s a memory that leaves me with the feeling of her love for me. Yep, yep, you’re right it’s a feeling!!! I got a feeling that today’s gonna be a good, good day…. singing aloud now!

    1. You are so funny! Such a sweet memory of your grandmother … And apparently it will live forever…as you enjoy your morning coffee. Thanks for reading all month! 🙂 xoxxo

Leave a Reply

