Whose Project Is It?

Whenever Leah has had a school project and I get involved, it somehow becomes my project. My husband always teases and asks me, “It is your project or Leah’s?” I think I may have mentioned previously I am a perfectionist. I tend to get really into her projects and enjoy them. Well, I may as well be honest, I tend to take over her projects. It’s like I have no control and can’t help myself. OR…is it I must have control? Either way, I do not do it consciously, it just happens.

Anyway, my husband has been helping Leah with her latest project – a catapult. Yes, the same husband that teases me for my heavy involvement in her projects. This project has been in the making for a few days now and has consumed his time from the minute he walks through the door until dinner then after dinner for at least another hour. He makes adjustments then tries it out a few more times. Then he makes another modification here and there while Leah watches, just the same way she watches me when I am helping.

Today a few overachieving classmates brought their catapults to school which were constructed the very same way as Leah’s. Dang internet! Oh boy, the challenge is on! We couldn’t even have a conversation with my husband over dinner. He was deep in thought trying to figure out how he was going to make her catapult better. While Leah spent over an hour at religious education, my husband spend the time improving her catapult. I think we may have a winner!

It’s pretty entertaining being on the other side.

10 thoughts on “Whose Project Is It?

  1. It’s amazing how much fun projects can be. It makes me feel like we should be advocating for more project based learning in school. Think of the critical thinking that was going on to work on this catapult. My son made one too – but he did it at school and worked out all the details on his own. It’s great to show kids passion and commitment to working through a problem. Thank you for sharing.

    1. I definitely believe in project based learning. In fact, my daughter was lucky enough to have a teacher that was into that too this year. It has been an amazing experience and quite a confidence builder. Thanks for your thoughts! 🙂

  2. Sounds like me. I have “helped” make an octopus with habitat from paper mache, the Parthenon out of styrofoam, and more. I am getting better at letting them own their writing. Baby steps!

  3. This story rings so true. I often think that there should be more “fun” projects for adults- nothing is more fun than a catapult or something erupting. It seems like your family is passionate about the things they work on. Thanks for sharing.

  4. I didn’t even make it through all of the first line and was cracking up…GUILTY!!! I can’t imagine how it is to watch Dad “helping” Leah! (and I’m pretty sure you will always remind him of how he “helped” with the catapult project 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

