Rest in Peace

Dear Top Front Tooth,

You became yellow, then turned light brown. You died. Your death is truly a mystery to us. Emily has no recollection of causing you any trauma, but something happened. We do know it was a slow death though. Little by little, you dulled Emily’s smile and drove me absolutely crazy. What if someone thought I wasn’t taking proper care of my daughter? How dare you! The dentist insisted that there was no reason for you to go prematurely. Apparently you felt very comfortable with his advice, as you finally decided after about 18 months that it was perhaps time to move on. You had been loose for at least a month, but once again, didn’t move so quickly. I kept encouraging Emily to play with you, but not because I liked you. Truth be told, I couldn’t wait for you to leave! I was sure you would be gone last week, but to no avail. It was a whole week later and you still lethargically sat, light brown and dull. I challenged Emily to force you out and even made a few attempts myself. Though you proved to be stubborn, I was confident we could handle you. I guess I was right. It seems you grew tired of the fight and raised your white flag last night. Emily triumphed! A countdown at Emily’s request began the final exodus. I counted, “3-2-1 PULL!” She yanked down with authority, and there went the tooth flying across the table. We celebrated your departure and the tooth fairy continued the merriment. Though Emily looks like a Jack-o-lantern now, people will at least know I am not neglecting my child’s dental health.

Good Riddens,
Emily’s Mom

Em front tooth

29 thoughts on “Rest in Peace

  1. I love the line: I kept encouraging Emily to play with you, but not because I liked you. This play with personifying the tooth makes this such a joy to read. I think this might be something I’d like to try.

  2. Good riddance, indeed! It was a great letter and I well remember worrying about things that might make people think I had not done all I should as a mother- mother guilt is so strong!

  3. Your letter to the tooth shares the feeling so many of us have as we make sure others see us in a positive light. That stubborn tooth sure did stick around! I loved that jack-o-lantern tooth picture my children too at this age. I hope the tooth fairy embraced that stubborn tooth.

  4. Lynn says:

    Oh my gosh this slice is great! And never ever would someone think you didn’t care about your daughter’s dental care…she’s a kid kids lose and bang teeth all the time :-). Glad it’s gone though and you have peace of mind!

  5. macrush53 says:

    What a way to describe the loss of a tooth. I hope the Tooth Fairy was generous. Jack-o-lantern teeth are fun.

  6. Those loose teeth hanging by a thread. So many kids love it…the tongue moving it back and forth. My teeth came out the same day I discovered the wiggle. Some savor the wiggle.

  7. Had to drop in and see what you had here! It reminded me of my own daughter’s tooth, though she finally also broke that gray tooth and it had to be pulled when she was 4. She went a loooong time with an empty spot!
    Great format! Loved “I kept encouraging Emily to play with you, but not because I liked you.”

  8. So, so funny Angela! My favorite slice by you yet! I love that your biggest concern was people would think you were neglecting your daughter’s dental care. Ha! I think I might have felt the same way, which is why it was hilarious to me! And this: “I kept encouraging Emily to play with you, but not because I liked you. Truth be told, I couldn’t wait for you to leave!” Too funny!

  9. Man, that picture of Emmy really says it all. She looks as relieved and happy as your letter describes. Glad that old thing finally came out. Sounds like a real family effort!

  10. This is a precious story! Oh, the travails of children and their teeth. I loved this line: “Little by little, you dulled Emily’s smile and drove me absolutely crazy. ” Glad the tooth is gone!

Leave a Reply

