10 Confessions of a Crazy Slicer

 

Me: Hi, I’m Angela and I am a slicer!
Group: Hi Angela!
Me: I need to get some confessions off my chest.

1. On Monday I was so stressed and had limited time to write my slice. I started with the word stressed and it morphed into something that really didn’t happen. Wine! I didn’t even have a glass of wine, though I would have liked to. It was just a little party going on in my head. πŸ™‚
2. Like many other things in my life, writing my slices is frequently done in 10 minutes or less. It’s just my personality. I like to get tasks completed quickly.
3. Monday I only commented on 2 slices. I never got my third one in.
4. I feel guilty when I don’t comment on slices written by everyone in my district. I want to read them all and give thoughtful feedback, but that rarely is a possibility unless I neglect other commitments, which I often do…Shhhh!
5. Bad feelings engulf me when someone comments on my post and I don’t comment on theirs. I often find myself finding their post to leave a comment.
6. There have been many days when I think I knew I shouldn’t have signed up for this challenge. I don’t have the time and I am turning out junk!
7. I feel that in my first year slicing, last year, I produced much better pieces. They were more detailed, more intimate and more thoughtful. I feel pretty boring this year.
8. I don’t know if I should acknowledge a piece of writing when I see someone whose blog posts I read, especially in front of others. Is it like going to an AA meeting where we don’t discuss it around others?
9. I feel like I strong-armed some into the challenge this year. Ooops! But, I only had good intentions.
10. I love the slice of life, I enjoy writing, reading, and commenting, but it’s one more responsibility. I am glad we are more than half-way done!Β  πŸ™‚

25 thoughts on “10 Confessions of a Crazy Slicer

  1. Number 8 is hilarious. Branching the, “slice life,” to our everyday life can be, um, well awkward at times. You comparing it to an AA meeting is hysterical. I know I certainly am trusting in our fellow slicers… I unleash some uber personal info at times… But that’s the writer’s risk, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve compared the transitioned to being almost akin to online dating… You feel like you know so much about a person, that when you see them, you don’t even know how to bridge the cyber gap or where to begin!

    1. Hope I didn’t offend anyone with my number 8. As you know – I only know about that stuff from experience so I feel like it’s ok to joke about it. πŸ™‚ I like your comparison – online dating or even being on FB. You may be FB friends with someone but if you see them, you it’s awkward!

  2. I am. It offended in the least by any of these. More like amen, sister. I’ve been a fellow slice slacker in my comment life and even in my own writing process. I actually felt better churning out a slice last night that was complete with a billion typos and not at all conveying my meaning at 10:59pm, and knowing I wouldn’t see any of you at all so no one is really going to care about my own perfectionist type quirky things. That’s sour problem, wanting to do it all and have a life right? Gotta have something to slice to. I’ll confess my slices have been under he influence of cocktails and late night candy to keep me up. 1000+ words? I don’t even want to read them πŸ˜‰ but I do want to catch up on yours this weekend. If only there was an app for reading slices aloud to me! That’s would be amazing. Someone make one…

    1. Sure you can! πŸ™‚ I don’t think I have ever even reached 1,000 words – lol! But…that’s clearly not my style – it would take too long! Don’t worry about catching up on mine – you will be sadly disappointed. Ugh! You have this amazing ability to turn everyday life into a comedy and that’s the humor I love!!! Why does life always get in the way! Classes will be done soon and I will feel like a freed bird!!!! Thanks goodness! Keep writing!!!!

  3. I definitely think this deserves an amen! I also think part of it is March in the teaching world, everyone is gearing up for testing and you just need a break! I won’t be producing anything amazing tonight either!

  4. ugh. I can relate to this! One of my nieces googled herself tonight and found the piece I wrote about her. She was mad because of what I said about her birth mother. I feel so horrible. The stuff we write is of course never meant to upset anyone – especially our subjects – but as Sneezy Knees said – we share some personal stuff on this slice of life writing!!!

  5. Can I just Ditto all of this. I mean really you nailed it. I love writing. I love slicing. I love commenting. But – ditto, really this time is truly challenging me.

  6. I love #8 because I feel the same way! I will start to say something to someone…and then stop and think…maybe we shouldn’t be talking about this out loud. #5..agree again…but sometimes it is just enough that my Slice actually got written. I loved this Slice! It totally made me laugh out loud!

  7. This is hilarious. Number 8 is so funny – so true, so awkward. I love the way you wrote this. It’s okay if this year is harder or you feel your writing isn’t as good (I totally disagree by the way.) I’m not commenting as much as I did last year either, and I feel shameful about it.

    What is wrong with us?

  8. I completely agree with you on every single one of these! I feel like my slices and my comments have been lacking so much this year. I guess I have a little excuse.

Leave a Reply

