Heartbroken

I should have known when she asked me to wake her before I left this morning. I figured dreams would still be occupying her young mind before 6 am. I’m nearly ready to leave when I hear “mommy,” escape from her with a concerned tone. I head down the hallway to her room to comfort and assure her that I am still here, and I will be home later. I encourage her to go back to sleep and leave her with a loving kiss on her forehead. Just moments later I am greeted in the kitchen by my child with streaming tears. So upset, so sad. She doesn’t want mommy to leave. I promise her I will return tonight and it won’t be long before I won’t have to be gone so often. I tuck her in with daddy and know she will be okay, but I too have an aching heart that she bears such sadness. I am hopeful she will grow out of her separation anxiety. It doesn’t rear it’s ugly head at every departing, just some. She has become more selective about which situations fit the part – that is a good sign.

15 thoughts on “Heartbroken

  1. Oh, the salty tears of childhood as they learn to navigate their days with mommy away. She is learning resilience and independence but sometimes it can be so much harder on the moms. Good luck!

  2. I just found your blog this morning and am inspired by your heart-felt writing. I could feel both your emotions and your child’s tears in this piece and the one about the teacher leaving had ME in tears. Sounds like you have captured an emotional week at your house. I hope the writing helps it to fit into a better – even if not great – place.

    1. Wow Anita – you just make this week so much brighter! 🙂 I appreciate your thoughtful comments! It was a rough week in our household! We are usually far less dramatic – myself included – but it’s been a rough one! 🙂

  3. Oh, how I remember these days! Your slice brought back such emotions in me. It is truly so difficult to leave our child when their face is streamed with tears. Stay strong! 🙂

    Jennifer

  4. beachhousefarmhouse says:

    Awwww poor little one. They just love their mummies, and although it feels so hard for both mummies and little ones the reassurance of a love so deep is so beautiful at the same time. Have a beautiful day and I hope you have a much better week. 🙂

  5. Marsha Amraen says:

    What a tug you at the heart piece!!it had to be so hard to leave and focus all day.. You are almost done!!!! Then you will have lots of Saturdays with your family.

Leave a Reply

