YOU are the Why

Dear Leah and Emily,

I know you won’t be ecstatic when you wake up and remember that I am at school again today. You are not thrilled that I won’t see your every move on the soccer field nor will I march by your side as you participate in the St. Patrick’s Day parade today. Daddy is on duty. I know you have become accustomed to making sacrifices, but are still overcome with disappointment when I can’t physically be there for you. I feel sad about that too. I regret not being able to be there for you, but I won’t apologize because I also want to you learn from it, from me. I want you to become strong, independent women who are well-educated. I don’t want you to give up until you realize your dreams. I want you to pursue the important things in life. I want your wings to grow larger than mine so you can fly higher. I want you to love life. I want to be most proud of you for the kindness and compassion you display, for your genuine, caring nature. I want you to have an open mind – accept and reflect upon other’s viewpoints and experiences. I want you to be the best YOU that you can be! So, please learn from me. Recognize that I am trying to improve myself and obtain more education so I can be a be a better, stronger role model and support for you. Recognize that you are amazing girls and I know you will achieve much more than I can even imagine. And, please understand my absence is just as much for you as it is for me. I love you and thoroughly enjoy watching you grow and become beautiful, hard-working, educated, gentle, and thoughtful girls and women!

Love,
Mom

21 thoughts on “YOU are the Why

  1. Thanks for another slice that made me cry! You are a fabulous role model for your girls. I know how hard it is for you to miss these important days with them. Beautiful sentiment you shared for all the things you wish for them. I hope you truly give this to your girls. Ad a daughter I would treasure a letter like this from my mother.

  2. I can empathize. Every time I had to leave the boys at home to go to a class, I always felt guilty. But you are right – sometimes the most important thing we can do for our children is to be a strong model. In the end, our kids know that we love them; that is indisputable. But what you’re doing is also showing them the value of education and of improving yourself. And that lesson can’t be underestimated. 🙂

  3. I love the title of this…Compelled me to read it…You are the why. And then I couldn’t stop reading. As a mom, myself, I was juggling so many things and could not always be there for important events. Their understanding of your constancy and devotion to them will be what holds you together. I am not sure how old your children are, but saving letters like this for them could be something that they will cherish when they are older. Thanks for this lovely slice today.
    ~Deborah

  4. You send your daughters a powerful message. At times it’s hard to understand choices parents make when you are 7 and 11, but over time they will appreciate everything you did for them. This is perfect for International Women’s Day.

  5. raeily says:

    Such a sweet, loving letter. You can really feel your love for them and your hopes and dreams for them practically jump off the paper. Thank you for this thoughtful slice!

    1. Maybe as they get older, tears will flow, but for today Leah said “I know I will fly higher than you, mom.” Such confidence and hope that doesn’t die in the next year or so as adolescents tends to kick the crap out of girls. 🙂

  6. Cathy Thompson says:

    “I want your wings to grow larger than mine so you can fly higher.” Thank you for such beautiful words that express what all mothers want for their children.

Leave a Reply

