Thanks Audrey!

What a day!

We were at my sister’s house to celebrate my dad’s birthday yesterday.

Cake and dessert time was accompanied by much entertainment by Audrey, my adorable 10 month old niece.

She is the first for my sister and brother-in-law and we all know what that means…no feeding her sweets, especially before her 1st birthday, when she will be lucky to get a smash cake.

Despite my sister’s pleas, mom fed Audrey tiny bits from the ice cream cake.  Needless to say, she LOVED it, so much that she was anxiously grabbing the fork and putting it in her mouth herself.

The real comedy came as we have her sitting on the table and she goes for the cream puffs.  Initially she thought they were balls and threw them across the table. Because we are a group of mature adults, we thought that was hilarious. She then accidently discovered that they really belonged in her mouth.  But, before that, they found there way on her finger and thumb. In no time, she had one in each hand and was alternating from which one she took bites.

We were all in hysterics.  She would also smile and laugh from time to time, like she knew she was getting away with something. It was such a wonderful, happy time for us. Laughing as a group, as a family, celebrating the good in life!

You bring such joy to our lives!

We love you to pieces, Audrey Elizabeth!

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Emily, Audrey, Papa (Dad) & Leah

9 thoughts on “Thanks Audrey!

  1. I LOVE the picture with Emily, Audrey and your mom. The smiles. Oh, the smiles. I would keep that picture close and whenever I needed to be uplifted just pull it out. It’s so natural – so in-the-moment. Beautiful girls!!

    1. Thanks! It’s my favorite too! I appreciate all the time you have taken to read and comment on my pieces! I owe it all to you for getting me involved. THANK YOU!!!

  2. What a little nugget! The photo is to die for! I love how you say, “She is the first for my sister and brother-in-law and we all know what that means…no feeding her sweets, especially before her 1st birthday, when she will be lucky to get a smash cake.” OMG, that was totally me with Matthew! Then with Luke I was like, who cares. Figures he’d be the allergy kid who couldn’t enjoy my loosening up… This is such a sweet (no pun intended) final slice for the month. It has been so fun to read your life and hear your voice shine through. I’m glad to have been a part of this first slice go round with you. See you Tuesdays, I hope!

  3. Beyond adorable! I love the photos! I feel a lot like your sister- our Aubrey is on a no sugar until she is one diet….and I can see my Dad trying to find a way around it (and of course I will let him!)
    I have loved reading your Slices this month! You are such a writer and I hope that you continue on Tuesdays- I can’t wait until next March to get more inspiration from you:)

    1. As I said in the reply to Brittany, we are all like that with our first born. Then, the world loosens up quite a bit with the others. 🙂 The experience with each child is different in so many ways but that makes it so much fun! Thanks for your kind remarks, not only today but throughout the challenge. I have really enjoyed getting to know you better through your writing! What fun!

Leave a Reply

