My Sister and I

My sister and I are not two of the same.
I’m pretty hyper and she’s rather tame.

I like to be active and frequently on the go.
She would rather relax and lay somewhat low.

I tend to take things personal, hold my ground and won’t budge.
She’s much less emotional and doesn’t hold a grudge.

I wear my emotions on my sleeve for all to see.
She is very private, not at all like me.

I am a math person, very much black and white.
Her career is in writing, where there is no wrong or right.

I am very practical, always looking for the best sale.
She buys what she likes, no matter how much or what it entails.

I am the brown crayon, not very much fun.
She is bright yellow, like the color of the sun.

I always try to please and go out of my way.
She does what she sees fit, no matter the day.

Regardless of our differences we now play different roles.
We have grown up a lot, have different priorities and goals.

We are both aunts now, and couldn’t ask for more.
We both have girls who we each love and adore.

When my girls are with Auntie Lisa, they are guaranteed a good time.
There are no rules, no spared expenses, not a dime.

They do what they please, when they are with their aunt.
She gives them anything, it’s not a matter of can or can’t.

My girls love her to death and for that I am glad.
She is more like a friend than like a mom or dad.

Hopefully as they get older to her they will go.
For advice on life, and tell her things I don’t want to know.

I know I can trust her, she won’t guide them astray.
I hope I can provide the same, I’ll try my best every day.

Regardless of the differences that we each bear.
We love each other a lot and there is so much we share.

There’s still so much to come as the girls grow and we age.
I am grateful to have my sister to go through each stage.

Auntie Lisa, Leah and Emily, with Baby Audrey in tow
Auntie Lisa, Leah and Emily, with Baby Audrey in tow
11 thoughts on “My Sister and I

  1. What a nice tribute to your relationship with your sister. Life would be pretty boring if you were exactly alike, wouldn’t it? Sounds like together, the two of you are a good balance for each other. The love and the sharing is what holds sisters together.

    1. Thanks Carrie! I have been trying. This took me a while today and still not exactly what I wanted to say, but I thought she deserved some props during this challenge. 🙂

  2. This so so sweet and a really nice reflection of your relationship with your sister. I love that you played it out poetically, breaking down the differences in a fun way. Like it is what it is and we are both okay with it. It made it fun and maybe showed that you two opposites attract and support because of these things. I just got a kick out of it. The last line is the kicker – “so glad I have a sister to go through each stage”. That’s perfect.

  3. Fantastic way to craft a piece on opposites! I loved the rhythm of the poem as well as the message. Isn’t it funny how siblins can be polar opposites?! This was great!

  4. I am so happy that I have girls. I hope they continue to be opposites to balance each other out. All nieces and nephews love their aunts. At least all my nieces and nephews. You should share this with your sister. It would definitely put a smile on her face. It did for me!

  5. Lisa says:

    Yay!!! I made the blog! Love your post. But you-my sister-are yellow! And it’s been so great to watch your brighter shade shine through even more every day as you write and share your experiences. This is awesome-I’m going to frame it! Love you!

Leave a Reply

