Let’s Roll

I’m lying awake rearing to go, but trying to be a good sport.

My husband likes to “relax” on vacation while I thirst to suck the life from our new temporary home.

So much to do, so much to see, but I’m trying to quiet my inner self, trying.

It’s screaming so loudly I can barely hear myself think.

I’m trying to be a good sport.

There is plenty of time for rest and relaxation at home where there is no access to parks and pools. 

A sense of urgency is looming.  We have to get out there, inhale every experience available to us.  

It’s already after 9 am and he is still in bed “resting.”

I can’t take it anymore. This being a good sport thing is overrated. 

Leah comes in and requests that we go to a park. Ahh…YES! The wait is over! Let’s roll!

 

 

 

 

 

 

25 thoughts on “Let’s Roll

  1. Nf says:

    Every couple must have one of each… I giggled when I read this, as I’m definitely more like your husband and my husband like you. Hope you get a good balance of both exploration and relaxation! Enjoy!

  2. We are the same! On the clock, plans to be made, special secret brain formulas in place to maximize most fun and decrease the factors for whining and tantrums. Don’t sell yourself short on that. Dad is the wizard, mom is the behind the curtain doing all the work… Smile at that one. Smile as much as often today even if it hurts. Apparently there’s some scientific mumbo-jumbo that just the act of smiling causes a person to be happier. Seriously, I didn’t make that up just now. I read it one time somewhere and I’m fairly certain it was a reliable source.

    1. Thanks for the advice Brit! If things don’t go my way, I tend to blame the rest of the mishaps for the day on the fact that we didn’t follow MY plan. This isn’t just MY vacation…I have to let them enjoy their vacation too, without the wrath of mom. Ohhh…so tough! You are so right…dad the wizard, mom doing all the work. Someday when they are moms, they will realize! 🙂

  3. So funny, Angela. I can feel your sense of wanting to get up and go yet trying to be patient and relax. I could go on vacation and sit on a beach, in the same chair, with the same drink, and a book every. single. day. My first vacation with Ava is going to be a rude awakening. Have fun!

    1. Don’t let me fool you Shanna! My ideal vacation is sitting on a beach with a drink in hand, reading a book…all day! However, I still want to get up and go…even if it’s just to the beach. I HATE just laying in bed, doing nothing. On the other hand, when we are on a “kids” vacation, it’s go, go, go! When you spend money on tickets and there is so much to do, you want your kids to experience it all! It’s right around the corner for you, sista! 😉

  4. Oh my goodness, I am the SAME EXACT WAY on my vacations. I like to plan every second and try to put every possible thing in. And my husband is the same with all that boring ‘resting’ going on. I hope you have a blast on your vacation.

  5. Angela, this is hysterical. I should vacation with your husband, I think.
    Your sense of wanting to go, go, go comes through loud and clear in this piece! I think it’s your word choice – rearing, screaming, trying…. I could feel your legs itching to get up and go!!

  6. We are leaving tomorrow morning…I’m ready to leave tonight….I need this trip…I need to talk in the car. We have merged as we have aged, into we need to see the sights…yes, but we need our chill time too. But yeah…most of the time I’ve got to go exploring! xo PS Thank you for your kind, kind response on my post. I really, really needed it today.

    1. Oh have fun, relaxing and sightseeing! I LOVE to relax on vacation but only certain vacations warrant that – this crazy kid stuff…Seaworld, Aquatica, Busch Gardens…is not the vacation we relax on. 😉 I’m glad I provided what you needed today. :-). But truly – the whole thing was AMAZING!

  7. That is exactly like my husband and I. I am impressed that you waited until 9. I wouldn’t be able to wait that long. Your line “It’s screaming so loudly I can barely hear myself think.” is so true. It’s like you are going to explode and scream “GET UP”

    1. I’m so impatient! When my mind and body want to go – there is no other option. But…then I like a little nap mid day. :-). At the waterpark today,
      Mark continued to go on water slides while I went back to the chairs and took a little siesta! Good thing I let him sleep in today! 🙂

  8. I can SO identify with…your dear husband. My idea of a perfect vacation is lounging around doing NOTHING. Even a water park is too much for me when I am in vacation mode. I love how you played this out. I could feel your pent up energy throughout and the sweet release of getting out. 🙂

    1. I LOVE to relax but these kid vacations are anything but. :-). Next vacation when it’s him and I …drink in hand, book on the other, soaking up some serious rays! 😉

  9. This made me laugh. Thankfully, my husband and I like little bit of relaxation and a little bit of adventure. I enjoyed reading your post and realizing how hard it must be for someone who likes to do things. It was also a good reminder that there is much to do in the places we visit. I really should do less relaxing and more exploring. Enjoy! I hope you have plenty of adventure.

  10. Oh how I love this slice….so much like my family and yet different….the kids are ready to go….husband ready to go….I need more time to rest. This was so great.

  11. Yeah for vacation!!! I hope you have so much fun!! I love how I can feel your excitement for all of your vacation adventures!! I an understand your husband though! Relaxing is ahhhh the best!

Leave a Reply

