Yellow

Yesterday was a blue day.

Though, it really should have been a green day given the date.

Yesterday was a blue day.

I can’t explain what made yesterday blue, it just was.

I didn’t have much motivation.

I didn’t feel content.

I didn’t read slices.

Yesterday was a blue day.

Today was a fresh start, colored with white.

White for a clean slate

White for purity

White for new

Today began a white day.

It was soon doused with glistening yellow when I read I inspired someone to write a poem.

Boy did that feel good!

Today is a yellow day.

A golden yellow splashed the day as I was privileged to address over one hundred colleagues this morning.

Today is a yellow day.

Suddenly, scarlet red stained the lush yellow canvas as experts delivered grim news regarding Illinois public school finances.

But, today is not a red day.

Today is a yellow day.

Warm yellow began to splatter the cold red as my thoughts wandered to my kids, husband, family upcoming vacation, job, my colleagues…all my blessings.

Though other colors may come out to play today, I will not allow them to taint my day.

Today is a yellow day!

images0Z667O8O

29 thoughts on “Yellow

  1. Yah for a yellow day! We all go through blue days too, and sometimes we don’t even know why. I liked when you said yesterday should have been green. That was clever. I am glad you are having a better day today!! You deserve it!

  2. Cool how you weaved in the colors to tell this story. The message I got from it was that we have control over the “color” of our day -even if there is bad, or not so happy news, we can still count our blessings. Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. I like the structure of this poem/story. I love how you repeat today is a yellow day again and again. I can see you taking a deep breath and making a decision to have a positive outlook, regardless of the challenges that come your way. “Today is a yellow day.” This is a great reminder to hang on my office wall!

  4. You described my yesterday also, after meetings about children’s situation we so desperately want to fix! Today was better too. I love your poetic way of describing both!

  5. I loved the spectrum! Hooray for a yellow day! Keep us out of the red and into the yellow. I don’t know what that is in finance terms but I’m guessing better than red.

  6. Loved the use of color throughout the poem. I could feel you being strong and determined in this piece- nothing will get in my way of a yellow day! Great slice.

  7. Last month I listened to author/illustrator, Bryan Collier, talk about writing. He talked about how writers need to capture the color of the day. You did that eloquently here. I think your piece would make a strong mentor text for young writers.

    Cathy

    1. Wow, thanks! One of our teachers, famous Slice of Life blogger :-), Brittany Butler, used a piece of mine, along with a few other bloggers’ pieces, as mentor texts for her kids just yesterday. I will have to check out Bryan. Thanks for the kind comment!

  8. Just a reminder to tell people when they have done something for you… because you really can change someone’s day just by acknowledging what they did for you! Thanks for inviting me to this challenge, I truly feel it was meant to be!

    1. Thanks Jodie! As you can see…you did and I wrote about it! 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words! So glad you joined us. Your writing is awesome and your stories are so captivating! Keep writing!

Leave a Reply

