On Top of the World

He was happy for me when I shared the news.

I was so excited, but nervous at the same time.

Could I do it?  Would it be like riding a bike?

I woke up early in anticipation for my big day.

I got ready, thinking about just how awesome this was going to be.

Varied emotions were heightened on the way … until that song filled my car.

Happy blasted out of the speakers and it was then that the feeling couldn’t be denied.

I was ready!

I pulled up to the house and awaited the sweet sound of cheerful voices and the sight of a variety of bright colors in many shades to round the corner.

I was early, I had time to read and comment.

Suddenly they appeared, so many of them, looking good, more than halfway to their goal for today.

I got out of the car, I was ready, I was eager.

We take off.  A little doubt crept in my mind.

Can I sustain this pace? Will I have to slow down?

The familiar sounds of the rubber soles hitting the pavement…

The merry voices of good friends sharing stories and experiences…

The heart beating to a faster rhythm, but finding a comfortable beat…

I am in heaven.

I am busy in conversation, some serious, others amusing.

No more uncertainty, too occupied, confidence builds.

We finish and I am teased for my negative thoughts of inability.

I miss it!  I miss them!

I stick around to partake in a little more chatter.

I feel great! I feel alive! I feel refreshed! I feel like I am on top of the world!

It’s the runners high.

I can accomplish anything today.

I am a yellow crayon!

I am … A RUNNER!

293309Running

17 thoughts on “On Top of the World

  1. No more uncertainty, too occupied, confidence builds… This was a line that drew me to reflect, it applies to many things, like the march writing challenge? :-). Thank you.

  2. I love this so much….running is going to be my topic today, too! I can relate all too well to those feelings of uncertainty and doubt… it’s such a mind struggle for me. I do love that runner’s high tho! Crossing the finish line is the best feeling 🙂

  3. I like catching glimpses of the parents of high school runners…because in many cases they are runners too. Often at high school cross country meets they are sprinting across the fields in small groups so that can see their kids pass by again. I just find it funny and charming at the same time.

  4. “I feel great! I feel alive! I feel refreshed! I feel like I am on top of the world!” I am thrilled for you …..wishing you many more days of “the runner high” :-))

  5. Awesome piece Angela. I loved the build up, I wasn’t sure what the run was about? Is this the charity that I heard about on the radio the guy that was raising money and brining awareness to a rare disease his daughter has where she is unable to express her emotions? Kudos to you either way!

    1. Thanks for reading! You wouldn’t believe that it was only a routine run in the neighborhood. However, it’s been forever since I have been running. I couldn’t wait though I was a little nervous that I still didn’t “have it.” The run went well! 🙂

  6. I hear it IS like riding a bike, a little slow at first and then you hit your stride. That’s just what I am told. The closest I come to running is my unusually fast walking gait. Enjoy every step!

  7. Awww…. A “yellow crayon!” Say goodbye to brown. 🙂 I love it. I could FEEL the energy of your words bounce off this post, Angela. The reader can tell that THIS is when you are in your element.

  8. I love that you included photos! The one of you waving in the race is so awesome. It’s exudes happiness at running. My husband and best friend turned into runner this year and I’ve never seen them happier. I’m so so so glad you got yourself out there today. Every day greener will have you more and more yellow… Great writing, btw. The thinking and questions and wondering. The remembering how it felt before. You are a runner!

  9. This is amazing! Your words exude self-confidence and satisfaction. “Happy blasted out of the speakers”…..Leaves the reader imagining their own favorite song playing loudly.

Leave a Reply

