Emily at 6 yrs. old

Em·i·ly

/ˈɛməli/ Show Spelled [em-uh-lee]

noun

a female given name: from a Latin word meaning “industrious”

daughter, sister, student, spirited and energetic, loud (not sure where she gets that from), cute, silly, funny, annoying (according to her sister), horrible listener (according to her parents), talkative, active, competitive, emotional, good friend, generous, kind, caring, loving, attention-seeker

A Typical and Actual Conversation with Emily

Me – Emily, where is your rocket math?  Get it and come up here.

Emily – (says something that I didn’t hear)

Me – Emily, what did you say? I didn’t hear you.

Emily –  I have my rocket math folder, but I don’t want to do it.

Me – I don’t care if you want to do it, get it and come up here!

Em – Why do I have to do it?

Me – Because I said so!!!!

(Yes, very brown crayon-like parenting)

Em – Well, you shouldn’t sass me!

Really?

Where does she come up with this stuff?

No joke – I have never said this to her.

 securedownload[1]

 Need I say more?

11 thoughts on “Emily at 6 yrs. old

  1. Hilarious! Kids are quite entertaining. I don’t have any of my own so I enjoy stories like these that immediately make me smile. (I guess I can enjoy the humor without having to deal with the frustration.) I love that you started with her name and the definition.

  2. oh no she didn’t! But, alas, yes she did. That sass will pay off in spades one day…..and that day could be sooner rather than later. Strong girl. Strong woman. Good stuff.

  3. Love this. I think it is great that she has such a strong personality. Not so great right now (for you), but it will be wonderful for her in the future. Very creative!!

Leave a Reply

